Red-Headed Step-Child

April 4, 2008

Greenhouse Effect

Filed under: Mix and Match — Candy Lemmon @ 9:33 pm

Spring has always felt a little like a 1950’s date to me. A walk in the park, a ride in a convertible, a picnic on the grass. These looks were inspired by that vintage state of mind, when holding hands was going steady and collars were always buttoned.

When I bought the Beatha outfit from Artilleri months ago, I was already mentally pairing it with my wardrobe in preparation for Spring. So when Aoharu released this summery yellow shirt to their group, I knew the layer options were just what I needed to pull this look together. I only recently discovered that all of my white modifiable clothes and accessories are tintable, and have been having a blast adding pinches of color like this tank top colored to match the aqua tones in my skirt. To play up the retro-sweetness, I attached one of Artilleri’s hair lillies to my chest for a prom-night corsage, and wore little understated opal studs in my ears. This skin is one of many Eloh edits I am obsessively filling my inventory with, available at Mela’s, which I particularly like for her soft shading and sugary colors. A long, feminine ponytail seemed the perfect match.

Van’s look started at the top, with the nice-boy haircut and Buddy Holly glasses. I usually suggest eye-wear when he wears his Scorpio skin, because he’s too damn pretty, and Artilleri has the best retro frames I’ve seen. The yellow-striped polo from Paper Couture actually has a hand-drawn bowtie, but I thought a little punch of color from a Shai bowtie tinted pink made a fresher look. The Armidi sweater brings a little pale blue to the mix, and there’s a matching yellow belt hiding just beneath it.

On Candy:
Skin: Mela’s – Mermaid
Eyes: Miriel – Iridescent Collection – Peacock
Hair: Armidi – The Super Pony in Red
Undershirt: Aoharu – Ruffled Cotton Top in Light Yellow (Group Gift)
Tank Top: It’s All Good – White Tank Top (Tinted Aqua)
Skirt: Artilleri – Beatha Skirt
Earrings: Yummy – Opal Studs
Corsage: Artilleri – Lovely Lily (Pink Texture)
Manicure: Fleur – Pastels Pack – Rose
Lashes: Cake – Bedroom Lashes

On Van:
Skin: The Abyss – Scorpio in Dystopia
Eyes: Miriel – Arctic Collection – Midnight Sun
Hair: Armidi – The Cadiz in Sangria
Shirt: Paper Couture – Plaid Casual Suit Top
Sweater: Armidi – Merino Knit Cardigan in Sky
Jeans: Indigo – Cobalt Gray Jeans with Yellow Belt
Bowtie: Casa del Shai – Classic Tuxedo White Bowtie (Tinted Pink)
Glasses: Artilleri – Buddy Holly Glasses

For Slurls, see our Locations and Designers and Photo-Shoot Locations pages.

2 Comments »

  1. Lovely Candy! We’re all ready for Spring and for those innocent times of the ’50’s! I really love the look and I adore the pics as a total too! Where on earth did you take these pics?? Woww!

    Comment by Natasha Ascot — April 5, 2008 @ 1:17 pm | Reply

  2. Yay, I’m so glad you liked them! Torley’s Windlight presets and the location did all the work for me.

    It’s called TESH GARDENS Garden Center; I believe it’s a store, but the landscaping and architecture are just perfect for snapshots. I’ll send you a lm if this is your in-world name. :)

    Comment by Candy Lemmon — April 5, 2008 @ 4:08 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

