Red-Headed Step-Child

May 8, 2008

Sex and the Sim – Episode 1

Filed under: Mix and Match,Theme Outfits — Candy Lemmon @ 11:55 pm

Like most every stylish girl out there, I’ve been anxiously anticipating the Sex and the City movie release. In my day-life I’m a clothing stylist in a vintage store, and I’ve earned the neighborhood nickname of “Carrie Bradshaw”. Let’s see if I can live up to it!

This was my most challenging shoot to date. From the styling to the setting, I really wanted to do the city and the clothing justice, and I hope I accomplished that. This look started at the top, because I originally wanted something like the opening sequence in which she wears a tiered skirt and casual tank. When I realized I didn’t have the right skirt in my inventory, I got creative and discovered the bottom of Ingenue’s Lady Stardust might just have the right amount of glitz. I layered a Celestial Studios tank over the undershirt option, edited the straps, and raised the hem of the tank enough to give a pretty high-waisted effect. Of course, the truly fashionable woman knows it’s all in the details. Carrie always knew just how to accessorize, and I’m paying homage to that memorable season in which she often wore big, statement-making flower corsages. The ruffled socks and white gloves add the touches that truly make personal style. I knew I needed Cake’s slightly wild volume to pull off her trademark tousled curls, and it just wouldn’t be Carrie without that perfect pair of pumps, and a great purse.

Van’s photo was a tough one – Big needs a black car and a city street at night, and there weren’t too many of those waiting for my camera. In the end I turned to the trusty black Shadow, attached it to his avatar and managed to take a picture next to the “Candy Club”, which I found to be cutely appropriate. Deciding on a suit required some discussion, but we settled on a true oldie-but-goodie, Van’s very first suit from SF Designs. The included prim cuff-links and tie-pins are favorites of his, and emphasize the power and class that Mr. Big always exuded. It was hard to talk him out of his Scorpio skin, but he agreed that businessman don’t tend to wear eyeliner, and donned a Minnu Model skin, a past group freebie. (I don’t know if the current controversy extends to freebies, I’ll read up on my scandal lit and get back to you.) Likewise, he traded his longer locks for a well-manicured effect, and tried a new sexy amber eye-color.

Stay tuned next week for Smith and Samantha!

On Candy (as Carrie)
Skin: Vogue Skins – Last Year’s Spring Series – Fresh in Pure
Eyes: Miriel – Duotone Collection – Predawn
Hair: Cake – Wish II in Deep Red
Tank Top: Celestial Studios – Boybeater in White
Skirt: Ingenue – Lady Stardust Dress in Midnight
Socks: Rebel Hope Designs – Candy Socks
Shoes: Tesla – Shiny Felicity Platforms in Red
Gloves: Muism – Lady Gloves (Worn without Prim Fox Fur and Pearls)
Purse: Rebel Hope Designs – The Hope Gown Pillbox Purse
Corsage: Bare Rose – Thorn of Beauty Geisha Outfit Roses
Lashes: Cake – Flutter Lashes

On Van (as Mr. Big)
Skin: Minnu Model Skins – Pale Shaved
Eyes: Miriel – Jeweled Collection – Amber
Hair: Armidi – The Grammar in Sangria
Suit: SF Designs – Executive Suit in Black
Shirt: Casa del Shai – The Luna Suit White Barong Shirt
Shoes: Storm Schmooz – Men’s Black Shoes
Tie: Bare Rose – Casablanca Outfit Tie in Simple Red
Tie Pin and Cuff Links: SF Designs – Executive Suit

For Slurls, see our Locations and Designers and Photo-Shoot Locations pages.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.