Red-Headed Step-Child

May 22, 2008

Memoirs of a Geisha – Chapter 2

Filed under: Freebie Love,Mix and Match,Theme Outfits — Candy Lemmon @ 9:31 pm

The kimono is a beautiful and versatile item to have in your wardrobe, virtual or otherwise. I thought to continue my series, I would explore two faces of a modern geisha; and demonstrate how fantasy and function are both alive in this exotic garment.

On a rainy night out shopping in Tokyo, there’s nothing like a bright kimono to cheer you up. The neon fans on this Milk Latte kimono make it my hands-down favorite for quirky style; of course, the L$30 price tag didn’t hurt either! Mixing an obi from a second Milk Latte kimono, with sandals from Cherry Tokyo, puts an individual spin on an otherwise ready-made look. You do it for American outfits, why stop there? I chose some risky neon eyeshadow by Roberta Beauchamp to play up the harajuku cool. I should really do a proper closeup of these skins, I’m VERY partial to vivid makeup and bought her entire fatpack – and I never do that! My Zero Style hair-buns are straight out of my favorite childhood anime, and never fail to make me smile. Add a big panda umbrella and a little yellow daisy, and I couldn’t feel more like a modern-day geisha-girl.

And now for something more dramatic. The extravagant, ornamented hairpiece of Bare Rose’s Thorn of Beauty kimono outfit makes any kimono a show-stopper, but Cherry Tokyo’s excellent reputation is clearly represented by this gorgeous piece. My pink uchikake is sadly masked by the wall, so I will feature it again soon in all its’ ornate glory. I wanted a darker, more theatrical feeling in the face of all this pink, so I chose the “Lacquer” option included in Iris Ophelia’s Another Fundraiser skins. [I’d hate to keep featuring a discontinued item, so I’m asking for anyone to point me in the direction of other available Geisha skins! I’m close to the limit on my Geisha hairstyles as well, so please, feel free to share!] The Love Parade obis from Bare Rose are hard to pass over, worn here is the red version with an included golden flower. These pink paper fans were freebies, a version in light blue was available as well.

Curious about some of the vocabulary? See Foreign Fashion Vocab for more information.

See part one of my series here: Memoirs of a Geisha – Chapter 1

Skin: Love.Love.Love – Wax Poetic in Rio
Eyes: Miriel – Arctic Collection – Aurora
Hair: Zero Style – Thelma in Auburn
Kimono: Milk Latte – Poster 15 Kimono
Obi: Milk Latte: Poster 2 Kimono
Geta Sandals: Cherry Tokyo Kimonos – Pink Uchikake Geta
Hair Flower: Kurotsubaki – Yellow Flower (Group Gift)
Umbrella: Andalusite – Giant Panda Umbrella

Skin: Another Fundraiser – Another Geisha in Lacquer by Iris Ophelia (No Longer Available)
Eyes: Miriel – Arctic Collection – Arctic Ocean
Hair and Kanzashi: Bare Rose – Thorn of Beauty in White
Kimono: Cherry Tokyo Kimonos – Pink Uchikake
Obi and Ornament: Bare Rose – Love Parade Kimono Outfit (Red Option)
Fans: Shinise Mall – Paper Fans (Free!)

For Slurls, see our Locations and Designers and Photo-Shoot Locations pages.

3 Comments »

  1. […] I was totally inspired to run out and grab a kimono after I saw this post on Red-Headed Step-Child.  And I’ll admit, it’s very late and I’m very tired so […]

    Pingback by Geisha « Fricka’s Flights of Fancy — May 23, 2008 @ 1:47 am | Reply

  2. Curl up and Dye has a lovely geisha hairstyle, and the one I personally favour is by SheOfTheSourSnailSuckers Sellery, ‘Upswept Bun Hair Glass Blooms Moonlit Black’; it comes in three sizes, with bangs and without, and the hair ornaments change colour on a click. I believe she has other geisha styles as well. I know there are many other people that make geisha hair, but those are the first two that come to mind.
    Hope this helps.
    -Tomo

    Comment by tomoyukibatra — May 23, 2008 @ 8:55 am | Reply

  3. Color-changing hair ornaments! Thanks so much Tomo!!!

    Your help is VERY appreciated, I wouldn’t be able to keep this series going without sharp-eyed shoppers like you.

    Comment by Candy Lemmon — May 24, 2008 @ 10:50 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

