Red-Headed Step-Child

June 2, 2008

Make Your Own Cupcakes!

Filed under: Designer Tribute,Freebie Love,Mix and Match — Candy Lemmon @ 6:14 pm

If you know what’s good for you, you’ve already been to the <3 Cupcakes freebie hunt, and are gleefully enjoying a closet-full of amazing clothing. The ever-generous Mimi Coral has once again graced us with her beautiful dresses and then some! I thought instead of showing two of the dresses as they were, I’d show you how I’ve been incorporating them into my wardrobe – as high-waisted skirts.

I am a high-waisted skirt fanatic in both lives, and as soon as I tried on the Lori dress it just screamed “SKIRT!”. With the girly poofiness and the bow at the back, it’s very much like a skirt I wear in rl and soo my style – even if the rest of this post isn’t. I always wanted to be a punk or a goth in high school, and here I can play out my fantasy whenever I choose. I’ve been itching to wear this Embellished tee with the bad-ass grinning skull cut-out, and I think I finally found the right way. The beautiful makeup of this Cake skin softened the look immediately, which I tried to emphasize with some messy pale pink curls. I thought these swirly Ice Cream socks were a playful nod to my surroundings, the Carnival of Doom, and my boots were a fantastic freebie from Katat0nik.

For my second look I decided to do something a little more approachable. I loved the detailing on the “Brown Fun” skirt outfit, but I’m not much of a fan of the color. To cover the included tan tank top, I reached for a modifiable jacket-layer shirt with a punch of color, like this plum tunic from Last Call. In “Edit> Appearance”, I then simply raised the hem of my tunic just enough to reveal the skirt, and there you have it – a custom outfit that no-one else will be wearing. My skin and hair are both stunning and free, the new group gift skin from Pixel Dolls and a Fuel style available at Savoir Hair (if you haven’t gone yet, what could be keeping you??). My chunky beaded necklace was also a group gift, from Artilleri; and my butterfly friend and his rose are available free in the Ninfa di Boschi outfit from the very giving Baistice creators. The other beaded necklace is discontinued, a casualty of Last Call, and my ankle boots were a steal at only L$35 from Asri Falcone.

Skin: Cake – Sierra Set 2 – 300 in Ivory
Eyes: Miriel – The Duotone Collection – Predawn
Hair: Mirai Style – Pani in Pink
T-Shirt: Embellished – Hands Tee
Skirt: <3 Cupcakes – Lori Dress Dotty Poofy Skirt (FREE!)
Stockings: Aoharu – Ice Cream Dress Socks in Pink (Past Group Gift)
Boots: Axis Mundi by Katat0nik – Sculpted Boots

Skin: Pixel Dolls – Stella di Roccia – Gold Eye, Crimson Lip Skin in Tone F (FREE Group Gift!)
Eyes: Miriel – The Spectrum Collection – Late Sunset
Hair: Fuel – Laydee (FREE at Savoir Hair!)
Undershirt and Skirt: <3 Cupcakes – Brown Fun Outfit (FREE!)
Tunic: Last Call – Yelena Semi-Sheer Tunic in Night Sky (No Longer Available)
Boots: Asri Falcone Originals – Ankle Boots in Purple
Short Necklace: Artilleri – Chunky Bead Necklace (Teal Texture, Spine Attachment, Past Group Gift)
Long Necklace: Last Call – Wood & Opal Necklace (Chest Attachment)

For Slurls, see our Locations and Designers and Photo-Shoot Locations pages.

3 Comments »

  1. Hi Candy!

    Love what you did with the second look, you’re a really good mix-and-matcher :)

    Comment by Mariya Nesiote — June 3, 2008 @ 6:21 am | Reply

  2. Niiiice job!!!! I love the creativity and playfulness in your outfits and what a great way to incorporate THE sale of my SLife! I almost fainted at how much she had available for free. Great work as always :)

    Comment by IsabellaGrace Baroque — June 3, 2008 @ 5:27 pm | Reply

  3. Wow, thanks Mariya. Coming from you that means a lot.

    And as usual, I agree Miss Bella – the sale was almost too good! I have you to thank for introducing me to the Carnival of Doom too, I love that place. :)

    Comment by Candy Lemmon — June 4, 2008 @ 12:20 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

