Red-Headed Step-Child

June 4, 2008

Fairy Tales – Sleeping Beauty

Filed under: Designer Tribute,Mix and Match,Theme Outfits — Candy Lemmon @ 12:03 pm

“Once upon a time, a beautiful Princess was cursed by a scorned Fairy. Her evil magic was so strong that the spell could not be removed, but a kind Fairy offered a gift instead – instead of falling to her death, the Princess would sleep for a thousand years… and only be awakened by the kiss of true love.”

“The Prince, overwhelmed with love, bends to kiss the sleeping Princess.”

“Pure imagination” is a phrase that is near and dear to my heart, and something I often say to myself when I’m enjoying the creativity of four Yips. While I was exploring her newest build, a piece of curling fabric caught my eye. When I followed, it became a quilted bed covered in flowers, set high on poles, and it was asking me to sit. It was then I saw the fabric was a robe. Fluttering out across the floor for miles, it was a setting only fit for a princess… so I did what any girl would do, and waited for my prince. Van chose the red jacket from June Dion’s “Debauchee” for a young and passionate prince, and wore this sword to slice the briars from the castle wall. I wore only the silk of four Yips’ flowered robe, and a branch of roses in my hair.

“The Princess opened her eyes for her first look at love.”

In our real lives, Van and I are newlyweds. Having the luxury of a first life love, we’ve never even partnered. I think that helped to make me love this shoot more than any of our others. Instead of a real ceremony, we eloped and spent our savings on a Honeymoon in Disney World; so the white gown and Disney subject matter make me doubly sentimental. My dress is a mix of two Last Call designs, with “Brilliante” as the focus and the bustled “Josephine” skirt adding fantasy and volume. I decided to wear the same messy Aden hairstyle, because I imagine them just waking up together the next morning and holding a ceremony by themselves in the sun. The roses were created from a Waka & Yuki hair accessory, and served as symbols for the story’s hardships and love. My fairy-tale veil and circlet were both free, one from Nylon and the other a hunt surprise from Kouse Singh. Van wore a formal white jacket with golden epolets and cuffs from the Bare Rose “Imperial Guard” outfit, and a red rose to honor his maiden’s namesake.

“And they lived happily ever after.”

Look 1:
On Candy (as Princess Aurora of the Briar Rose):
Skin: GiGi Couture – Pink Lips Candy Skin (Past Hunt Find)
Eyes: Miriel – The Iridescent Collection – Peacock
Hair: Aden – Annyka in Red
Roses: Waka & Yuki – Rose Ribbons (Only L$10. I’ve removed the ribbon and made copies of the roses)

On Van (as Prince Charming):
Skin: The Abyss – Scorpio in Dystopia
Eyes: Miriel – The Jeweled Collection – Peridot
Hair: Sinistyle – The Petrelli in Rust
Outfit: Bare Rose – Debauchee Outfit (Red Jacket Option)
Sword: Bare Rose – Imperial Guard Outfit

Look 2:
On Candy (as Princess Aurora of the Briar Rose):
Skin: Imagen – Eva Reina in Norte (Past Group Gift)
Eyes: Miriel – The Iridescent Collection – Peacock
Hair: Aden – Annyka in Red
Wedding Dress and Gloves: Last Call – Brillante Wedding Gown, with the bustled skirt from the Josephine Wedding Gown also worn (No Longer Available)
Veil: Nylon Outfitters – Wedding Veil (Free, possibly No Longer Available – I couldn’t find the freebie box when I tried)
Roses: Waka & Yuki – Rose Ribbons
Circlet: Kouse’s Sanctum – Lucid Circlet in Silver Diamond
Lashes: Cake – Bedroom Lashes

On Van (as Prince Charming):
Skin: The Abyss – Scorpio in Dystopia
Eyes: Miriel – The Jeweled Collection – Peridot
Hair: SiniStyle – The Petrelli in Rust
Outfit: Bare Rose – Debauchee Outfit (White Jacket Option)
Cuffs, Epolets, and Sword: Bare Rose – Imperial Guard Outfit
Buttoneer: Bare Rose – Bloody Rose Outfit (Red Option)

Available Furniture:
YIPs – Blue Dream Sofa, Available here. (FREE! Amazing, huh?)
Bare Rose – Sky Sanctuary

For Slurls, see our Locations and Designers and Photo-Shoot Locations pages.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

