Red-Headed Step-Child

June 6, 2008

Hello Kitty!

Filed under: Freebie Love,Mix and Match — Candy Lemmon @ 11:20 pm

By now the secret is out, and there’s no need for me to say how creative and refreshing the Japanese design aesthetic is. You’ve probably even been to some Japanese shopping sims, bought a few Lolita dresses, and marveled at the overall quality and value. Here’s a decidedly anime-influenced look, that was almost entirely free.

If you’re an avid fan of Japanese designers, you may recognize the Harajuku Box sim I’m shooting in. It was my first trip, and I had a great time exploring and finding new content – which, you might have guessed, is part of the appeal. This outfit is a chimera of freebie finds, the love child of scavenger hunts, limited time freebies, group gifts, and dollarbie madness from Izumiya. You may remember this store from its recent feature by Adaire DeCuir of Free*Style and Isabella Baroque of Who Let The Dorks Out?; in fact, their post “The Reluctant Neko” inspired me to do this. I know a lot of people out there in the sl fashion community are always human, and never costume-y, and it has never made a lot of sense to me. To each their own of course, and I certainly can respect someone else’s personal style, but I love the genres of second life-only fashion: neko, steampunk, mermaid. Why not have fun with it?

I didn’t set out to make an outfit out of freebies, in fact I didn’t even realize I was. I only knew I loved my new flowered jumper from Izumiya, and wanted to build on it. I know it’s not considered very fashionable to go so matchy-matchy, but sometimes I can’t help myself. In the store where I work, there is a limited number of colors I can use in each display (the idea is to draw the eye with a concentrated look), and I unwittingly carry that idea into my wardrobe sometimes. Sugary bue and pink is something I would never wear in real life, but I wouldn’t strap on a tail and ears like this fluffy Atomic pair either. I might try this brash makeup from Cake however, I’m young and love to experiment. Once I had my direction, I found a pink sweater and searched my undershirts for this past gift from Blaze. The collar made me reach for prim cuffs, and I thought of this darling pair from Likka Noel’s pink-checked Alice costume, a recent freebie – although I’d already bought her blue Alice outfit (only L$20 full price). I’m a sucker for Disney, and they came with cute mixable extras like bowties and my sock frills. These patterned socks are from a limited-time Crystal Queendom freebie gown, which I slipped into some Mary-Jane Tesla platforms (a gift available for joining their group). Socks with a pair of heels is downright sexy, and something I wear all the time in both lives. Also pictured and two of my favorite new things are this adorable and FREE kitty belt-purse from Izumiya, and my pretty blue and pink princess manicure by Candy Nail.

Skin: Cake – Sierra Set 2 – 300 in Ivory
Eyes: Miriel – The Fantastic Realism Collection – Marine
Hair: Shop Seu – Mofumofu in Wine Red
Jumper: Izumiya – Tsunagi (Only L$1!)
Undershirt: Blaze – Dress Shirt in White
Long-Sleeved Shirt: Little Rebel – Crop Shimmer Top in Pink
Shirt Cuffs and Sock Frills: Likka House – Alice Dress in Pink Check (Only L$20)
Socks: Crystal Queendom – Cherries Jubilee Dress
Shoes: Tesla – Maryjane 2 Platforms in Black (Group Gift upon joining)
Ears and Tail: Atomic – Neko Ears and Tail in Auburn (Sold Separately)
Bow: Likka House – Alice Dress (Only L$20)
Belt Purse: Izumiya – Black Cat Hip Bag (FREE!)
Manicure: Candy Nail – Princess Series – Cinderella

For Slurls, see our Locations and Designers and Photo-Shoot Locations pages.

4 Comments »

  1. I love socks in heels! I’ve never been to that particular sim I don’t think, but I will certainly check it out.

    Comment by Channen Gossigpirl — June 7, 2008 @ 11:35 am | Reply

  2. Oh good, glad I’m not the only fan! I think it’s such a charming little look.

    You’ll love Harajukubox; with the scenery and the shopping, it’s just a great way to spend some time. :)

    Comment by Candy Lemmon — June 7, 2008 @ 1:46 pm | Reply

  3. YAAAAY!!! Great post Candy babe and thanks for the nod at Adaire’s Neko post. You look loverly in this jumper. Hooray for SL fashion experimenting! I love HBox so much, great setting for your outfit. You rock!

    Comment by IsabellaGrace Baroque — June 9, 2008 @ 12:07 pm | Reply

  4. Seriously, thanks for making the jumper look so good!

    I’m a huge Free*Style fan, and it’s always rewarding to follow the tips there – the girls (and now G!) really help all the bargain-hunters out there. Thanks (again) for the inspiration. :D

    Comment by Candy Lemmon — June 10, 2008 @ 9:18 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

