Red-Headed Step-Child

July 4, 2008

The Patriotic Pin-Up

Filed under: Designer Tribute,Freebie Love,Mix and Match,Theme Outfits — Candy Lemmon @ 9:57 pm

In our first Independence Day post, we featured the Retrology landscape but not its content. I’m righting that wrong with some of my new Sidewalk Sale treasures, and a few past favorites. I actually bought this outfit a few months ago with the 4th specifically in mind. I dress seasonally in second life, and this cheery bustier and high-waisted skirt combo from Ingenue is the perfect retro compliment to a hot summer night watching the fireworks. I pulled on my favorite frilly white socks and a pair of red platform pumps for a little extra sweetness, and grabbed this fantastic strawberry purse from Chapeau Tres Mignon to carry all my date-night essentials. There was once a time when I thought I’d never buy a bag in second life, but not only does this one echo the cherry print on my skirt, it actually comes with smokes and a tube of red lipstick. That’s hard for any bobby-socking bad-girl to resist! I was leaning towards pigtails or braids and came upon this great past group gift from Aoharu, which resulted in my first blonde and brunette post. Don’t worry girls, once a redhead – always a redhead. My skin is a group exclusive from Frick, a “Retro Pinup” makeup variation, and the quirky and sexy specs that really make this outfit are a delicious Dollarbie (!) from VintageWear at the Starlust. This gorgeous waist-cinching Ivalde belt might just be my favorite Sidewalk Sale find, and I wanted to find a really sexy and glamorous way to show it off. Here’s a look at Vintage another way, a little more campy and traditional. Comme Il Faut recently had a half off sale on their red items, and I took the opportunity to slip into this sexy “La Ideal” dress – let me tell you, I’m beginning to understand the name. I decided to go ahead and go patriotic full force and wear my dollarbie Juicy pumps at the same time, and broke out my new Gianetti prim nails. You’ll definitely be seeing these again, they come in a rainbow of colors and are scripted to extend into huge melee kitty claws – it’s great fun. My classic hairdo is a JetDoll freebie available at Savoir Hair, and the bow is from the “Cindy” Pin Up Doll outfit, one of my virtual faves. The sophisticated arctic fox stole is a Megg Demina creation – and don’t worry animal activists, it’s “faux”! This pose was attached to the crescent moon in The New Champagne Rooms where I shot (available for purchase in the club), but the first shot and many of my others recently have been from Long Awkward Pose. Dove Swanson has been offering a slew of sales, and it’s reminded me to begin giving credit to the pose-makers in our posts.

Skin: Frick – Retro Pinup (Group Exclusive Version)
Eyes: Miriel – The Iridescent Collection – Peacock
Hair: Aoharu – Elise in Milky Montblanc
Bustier and Skirt: Ingenue – Miss Lulu Outfit
Socks: Likka House – Alice Outfit
Shoes: Tesla – Felicity Platforms in Shiny Red
Glasses: Vintage Wear – Simple Frames (FREE!)
Purse: Chapeau Tres Mignon – Strawberry Bag
Manicure: Candy Nail – Freebie Nail #5 (FREE!)

Skin: LF Chai – Vedette in Cinnamon
Eyes: Miriel – The Fantastic Realism Collection – Violet Planet
Hair: JetDoll – Vintage Vixen in Black (FREE at Savoir Fair!)
Dress: Comme Il Faut – La Ideal Dress in Red
Belt: Ivalde – Jennifer Stars n’ Stripes Belt (FREE!)
Shoes: Juicy – Classic Pumps in Stars n’ Stripes (FREE!)
Fox Stole: Chapeau Tres Mignon – Faux Fur Stole in Snow Fox Hair
Bow: Pin Up Dolls – Cindy Outfit in Lt. Red
Manicure: Gianetti – Nails & Melee Claws in Crimson Diamond

Pose:
LAP – Glamour Girl Set

Available Props:
Sparkler – Callie Cline – Sparkle Sparkle Outfit (Silver Sparkler)

For Slurls, see our Locations and Designers and Photo-Shoot Locations pages.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

