Red-Headed Step-Child

August 6, 2008

Mo mo mo!

Filed under: Designer Tribute,Freebie Love,Mix and Match — Candy Lemmon @ 12:33 pm

As a minstrel once sang, “I think I’m turning Japanese.” Lately there’s been an explosion of coverage on Japanese designers, thanks to Beanie Canning and others with excellent taste, making it easier than ever for us to indulge! Today’s look is a tribute to Sumomo Kawashima, a blue-skinned beauty and intriguing fresh face on the Japanese design scene.

Momo’s is a new store with a distinctly candy-coated aesthetic. Offering mix n’ match separates in bright sugary shades, it’s the perfect shop for young fashionistas with a sweet tooth. This time I’m only wearing her new “Yummy” dollarbie tattoo, but a quick glance at the feeds will give you a peek at the rest of her delicious designs. I first noticed Sumomo some time ago – as a pink-haired, rainbow-tattooed, blue-skinned little pixie, she’s kinda hard to forget – and I was happy to see her pop up on Fashion Finds advertising her creations. When I saw myself in this (Free!) fantasy skin from Heaven Sella, I instantly thought “Momo!” and tore through my ETD willow packs for a funky pink style. (I know it’s a bit attack of the clones, but it sure made me smile! Heehee) I slipped into my new L$30 dress from Parallel Love and took a quick trip to the ultra-cute tattoo parlor, and everything fell into place.

This is my first time wearing a real dress on this blog, which shocked me, because I’m fanatic in my real life. I actually spent every year from 17 to 22 in nothing but skirts and dresses – I bought my first pair of jeans since childhood last year, for work. And so, to mark this historic occasion, I decided to go as girly as I could. Frilly white socks from Rebel Hope and a matching ribbon belt add a naive charm to the look, and a Blanc daisy corsage keeps it fresh and summery. I’ve got a thing for yellow heels, especially when they’re only L$35 for three colors like these classy buckled pumps from Ryouta Works. I wore a yellow Pin Up Dolls hair ribbon to match, and added a quick coat of Candy Nail’s lemon Jel Drop polish for extra impact. For the cherry on top, I reached for a double-scoop of Aoharu’s Ice Cream Earrings. Seconds, anyone?

Skin: Heaven’s Skin & Shape – Blue Fairy (Free! At her uemachi location: uemachi (22, 71, 29))
Eyes: Free Speerit – Blue Eyes (Past Group Gift)
Hair: ETD – Eglantine in Cerise
Dress: Parallel Love – Heart Lace Dress in Purple
Belt: Rapis – Siro Dress
Socks: Rebel Hope Designs – Candy Socks
Shoes: Ryouta Works – Simple Pumps in Lemon
Ice-Cream Tattoo: Momo – Yummy Tattoo (Only L$1!)
Stars Tattoo: Shi*t Happens – Rainbow Star Tattoo
Corsage: Blanc – Gingham Check Dress
Hair Bow: Pin Up Dolls – Cindy Outfit (Tinted Yellow)
Earrings: Aoharu – Ice Cream Earrings – Blue Hawaii x Cassis
Manicure: Candy Nail – Jel Drops in Lemon

Poses:
Kuri Style (Only L$10 for three poses!)

For Slurls, see our Designer Locations and Photo-Shoot Locations pages.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

