Red-Headed Step-Child

November 19, 2008

Coat Check

Filed under: Freebie Love,Mix and Match — Candy Lemmon @ 6:44 pm

The autumn leaves have tumbled past my windows for weeks. Yesterday, the first snowflakes fell. I can’t tell you which was sweeter – their beauty, or my sadness for the season’s change – but I smiled, just the same.

Growing up, I always dreamed about the winter fashion issues of the magazines, but lived a reality in my sister’s hand-me-down coats. Today, I have a lot of pride in my ability to thrift and re-purpose old clothes in new ways – and I’ve carried that over into my second closet as well! Today I’ll go from fall to winter in Little Rebel’s plaid trench coat, as quick as a haircut and a scene change.

I’m not the kind of girl who’s afraid of the big bad wind, so I rolled up my sleeves and left my legs bare to the ankle in these cozy knit socks from Kuri Style. I settled on a boho-hipster feeling with some shiny buckled flats in a punchy red, and a Bare Rose scarf with a few strands of beads. I don’t mix metals, so my G.L.A.M. waist-cincher was literally a great fit. Naturally, whenever I need a knit cap, I always turn to this Cake hairstyle with its many scripted textures.

Every 20-something fashionista needs a pair of aviators, especially in a traffic-cop amber color like this Laqroki pair. My prim nails are the orangey-red version of Candy Nail’s profile reward manicure, scripted with 3 other edgy color combinations. For both looks, I chose Miriel’s watercolor eyes to echo the aqua and violet tones of the plaid jacket, and a Nylon skin with flushed cheeks for that brisk winter-weather look.

First snow! I’m listening to “Vespertine” and “Felt Mountain”, and Dean Martin’s “Baby, It’s Cold Outside!” – what’s on your player? I threw on a pair of plum tights from Fleur, some stripey earmuffs, and buckled on some fur from Antonia Marat’s “Kat’s Meow” coat. I love these mixable furry bits, they kept me warm through last year’s second winter. A pair of black ETD booties to match, a fluffy white skirt for girly appeal, and a classic Blaze button-down finishes the look.

This so, SO cute braided hairdo is a BP* treasure in the challenging MnM acorn hunt. Yes, it was a little confusing, but not only are the prizes fantastic, Creamy Cooljoke has laid it all out for us HERE. THANK YOU! In this closeup you can see the blushing cheeks and subtle teal eyeliner that make this skin a cold-weather favorite of mine. To finish it off, I added some stardusted prim nails from Love Soul and pinned a delicate gold flower to my collar for sparkle.

Skin: Nylon Outfitters – Urban Eyes in Pearl
Eyes: Miriel – The Multicolor Collection – Watercolor
Hair and Cap: Cake – Boho in Burgundy
Jacket: Little Rebel – Trench Jacket
Socks: Kuri Style – One-Piece 93 Knit Socks
Shoes: Style Magazine – Roger Vivier Chips Tacco Flats (Free!)
Belt: G.L.A.M. – Waist Cincher with Gold Embellishment
Scarf and Necklaces: Bare Rose – Tietop Bolero Outfit (Blue Option)
Sunglasses: Laqroki – Pilot Shades in Brown
Manicure: Candy Nail – Abstract Nails (Orange Option, Free Gift for Profile Picks!)

Skin: Nylon Outfitters – Urban Eyes in Pearl
Eyes: Miriel – The Multicolor Collection – Watercolor
Hair: BP* – Autumn Loose Braid (Hunt Find!)
Shirt: Blaze – Boyfriend Button-down (Past Group Gift)
Coat: Little Rebel – Trench Jacket
Collar and Cuffs: Artilleri – Kat’s Meow Coat (Black Fur Option)
Skirt: Digit Darkes – Flexi Bubble Skirt in White
Tights: Fleur – Opaque Tights in Plum
Shoes: ETD – Kristin Booties in Black
Earmuffs: KA Designs – Colored Earmuffs
Brooch: Baiastice – Grandma Outfit Brooch (Past Group Gift)
Manicure: Love Soul – Starry Sky in Purple

For Slurls, see our Designer Locations and Photo-Shoot Locations pages.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

