Red-Headed Step-Child

November 21, 2008

Bananas!

Filed under: Designer Tribute,Mix and Match,Review — Candy Lemmon @ 10:19 am

I’m never been a big shoe-shopper. Unless I’m missing something important, there’s a truly amazing sale, or I’m close to leaving the house barefoot, I never buy them. Rowan Carroll’s shoes fit into a separate category: wearable art.

When I read the sad news about Unusual Isle closing, I knew I wanted to blog something really special. I’m a huge fan of her imaginative prim-work, as you can see in my “Lucky Kitty” post and in “Funk Me Pumps“; and these shoes illustrate all the reasons why. My favorite of her designs boast a clever concept, intricate prim construction, and always make me feel distinctive and original. Her Carmen wedges are a perfect example of those qualities, and are sexy and fun to boot. I decided to let them take me away, and ended up dressed as their namesake, the inimitable Carmen Miranda. With her for inspiration, they’re clearly dancing shoes, and work just as well in a nightclub or on dusty roads. Just don’t forget your trusty tambourine!

I always wear my darkest Chai skins when I want to be beautiful and striking, and Carmen certainly was both of those things. I went with a House of Heart style with a simple bun that made it easier to construct my turban, which is attached in two places and based on a Bare Rose bandanna and an Artilleri scarf. I bought a sculpty banana OnRez for L$30 before finding the sculpt map in my own library, and made the apples and grapes myself. The feather are sleeves of a gown, tinted white. Her high-waisted flamenco skirts and ruffled tops stretched my styling muscles, but I think I captured the feeling with a puffed sleeve from an Aoharu dress, and a Celestial Studios bandeau. I edited the length of my skirt pleats all around to mimic that rumba-style graduated fluff, and added a jacket-layer corset to heighten the waist. Ropes of gold necklaces from Bonita’s and Second Mirage catch the light and clinking bangles add music to my movements. Care to join me for a weekend in Havana?

Stop by the new She’s So Unusual Shoes location today! Thistledown (221, 131, 25)

Shoes: She’s So Unusual Shoes! – Carmen Platforms
Skin: LF Chai – Antonia in Cinnamon
Eyes: Lemania Indigo – Esther Williams Eyes
Hair: House of Heart – Ballerina in Black
Bikini Top: Celestial Studios – Bandeau Bikini Top
Shoulder Ruffle: Aoharu – Jewel Horse Dress in White
Pant Layer: G.L.A.M. – Chiffon Babydoll Dress
Skirt: Ceres Clothiers – Dotty Marilyn Dress Skirt (Edited a LOT)
Corset: CheerGirl allen – Champagne Corset (Only $L10!)
Small Chain Necklace: Bonita’s Jewelry – Platinum Chain Necklace
Triple Chain Necklace: Second Mirage – Tory Necklaces in Gold
Bangles: Yak & Yeti – Indian Devdas Glass Bangle Set in Red (Wear All Together and Hand Attachment Options)
Manicure: Candy Nail – Basic Nails in Gold
Lashes: Cake – Flutter Lashes

Headdress:
Scarf A: Bare Rose – Trench Coat Scarf (Worn on Chin, Edited to Fit)
Scarf B: Artilleri – Silky Scarf in Yellow (Tinted Green, Worn on Mouth, and Edited to Fit)
Feathers: DeFleur Fashions – Ariella Feather Sleeve (Tinted White, Edited to Fit)
Bananas: yamazaki Loon – Banana
All other fruits and crappy tambourine made lovingly by me.

For Slurls, see our Designer Locations and Photo-Shoot Locations pages.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

