Red-Headed Step-Child

December 6, 2008

Dark Roses – Bare Rose Challenge Part I

Filed under: Challenge,Designer Tribute,Mix and Match,Theme Outfits — Candy Lemmon @ 3:46 pm

I’m one of those nuts who happens to love this season, and outside it’s our first real snowy day. I thought I’d celebrate with a fashion challenge from a man named for the season itself – Winter Jefferson.

You know it’s time to sound the trumpets when everybody’s favorite verbose vampire issues a call to arms, especially when the revolution is Bare Rose in nature. I don’t know that I agree the store is hidden on the feeds – Van and I tend to feature a piece of June Dion’s work in nearly every post – but it’s more than overdue for special recognition. The options, the prim-work, the immediate “WOW” factor of a Bare Rose creation… there is nothing that inspires me more. I tried to capture that magic with a darkly glamorous mash-up of some of her gothic and fetish clothing; and the moodiness of the REZ sim added the perfect deconstructed edge.

My first and still favorite “goth-lolita” look I purchased at Bare Rose. I still feel sexy and nostalgic every time I wear it, so I started with the skirts from the GL Petite outfit. I remain super impressed with the system-skirt and prim combination it consists of, and I love the garter belt suspenders. From there, I went with a sort of edgy-ornamental look; adding a vinyl jacket with pointy dominatrix shoulder-pads and the statement and outfit-making Cat Mask. I saw these on the wall one day and they were instantly mine (Nooo I didn’t have a clue where I’d wear them, but I knew they’d be perfect for some high-fashion Mariya Nesiote-style costume some day. Turns out I was right!). The purples roses from Nocturne No. 2 add a little color, matched with a pair of lace-patterned tights from the branch $L10 Store. It was about at this point I realized I needed the knee-high ballet boots, and their physics-defying fetishy beauty – okay okay, more like finally had an excuse ;). I’m label-whoring my “BR. TYO” tank, and my bullet necklace and bandanna are from other Bare Rose outfits, rounding out our total to NINE separate folders of awesomeness. Just a fraction of the possibilities, and a tiny portion of my inventory!

I usually do Van’s shopping at Bare Rose, busy with his rock n’ roll job as he always is, and I put this look together for him myself. His every day style is usually somewhere between preppy and hipster, so I get kind of a kick out of buying him wilder, more Second Life oriented costumes. The Hell Jacket is a grungey post-apocalyptic trench, great for nekos and gun-wielding bad-asses. His ripped Revolt 69 jeans and torn Otaku Boy Shirt add some more faux-toughness, tucked into studded black boots fit for a horse or a Harley. As you can see, versatility is one of June Dion’s many middle names. The punky Casablanca belt makes another appearance, with scarf and saftey-pins from the Wakaz-O-Matic outfit. Sinistyle was the only other shop I visited for his look, for the Reznor haircut and his taped fingers. That brings Van’s total to six folders so far, and another installment is still on the way. After all, when can you have too many roses?

On Candy:
Skin: Tuli – Elizabeth in Light, Shy with Freckles (Past Group Gift)
Eyes: Miriel – The Arctic Collection – Snow
Hair: Cake – Lil’ Diva in Currant
Shirt: Bare Rose – Runaway Girl Ally Shirt (Dirty Option)
Jacket: Bare Rose – Decadence
Skirt: Bare Rose – GL Petite Skirts
Tights: Bare Rose – Stockings in Purple (L$10 Store)
Boots: Bare Rose – Ballet Boots in Black
Mask: Bare Rose – Cat Mask in White (Tinted Black)
Hair Roses: Bare Rose – Nocturne No. 2 Roses
Bandanna: Bare Rose – Inferno Scarf
Necklace: Bare Rose – Short Vest Lady Necklace
Gloves: Candy Nail – Finger-Gloves (Black with Pearl Option)

Pose:
Vain Inc. – Street Pose (Past Hunt Find)

On Van:
Skin: The Abyss – Scorpio in Dystopia
Eyes: Miriel – The Jeweled Collection – Zircon
Hair: Sinistyle – Reznor in Rage
Shirt: Bare Rose – Otaku Boy Ally (C Shirt Option)
Trench Coat: Bare Rose – Hell Fire in Black
Jeans: Bare Rose – Revolt 69 (Damaged Option)
Boots: Bare Rose – Studded Short Boots in Black
Scarf: Bare Rose – Wakaz-O-Matic Scarf (Blue Option)
Belt: Bare Rose – Casablanca Belt (Grey Sash Option)
Buttons and Safety Pins: Bare Rose – Wakaz-O-Matic
Finger Tape and Nail Polish: Sinistyle – Taped Fingers & Black Nails (Index, Middle, and Pinky Option)

Pose:
LAP – For the Boys Pack (Past Hunt Find)

For Slurls, see our Designer Locations and Photo-Shoot Locations pages.

1 Comment »

  1. […] See the first tribute here: Dark Roses – Bare Rose Challenge Part I […]

    Pingback by White Roses - Bare Rose Challenge Part II | Beauty Blog — April 15, 2009 @ 5:18 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

